It is with great sorrow that I comment on the life of one of the greatest performers, if not thee greatest performer, the “King of Pop” Michael Jackson. I remember listening to the Thriller album with my mother during the early ages when I was a little boy, and it’s something that we bonded over and I will always associate his music with being with my mom. This album included hits like Beat It, Billie Jean, The Girl is Mine and of course the title track Thriller. The thirteen-time Grammy winner knew no other life than to entertain and at age fifty, his life ended today.

I’m physically sick and the only thing that’s holding me together as I type this is that he we will always have the music that he made for us from the Jackson Five through his adult life up until his death and probably well after this tragedy.michael_jackson-thriller-cover I recall very vividly in kindergarten at Cedar Grove Christian School bringing in for show in tell a version of the rhinestone glove that was one of his trademarks. Another memory is the first time I saw the Thriller video, and that was a major event. It wasn’t like today where we have On Demand and Youtube, technologies that allow us to watch anything anytime. In the 80’s we all got together to watch Thriller on an old-fashioned VCR with a bulky VHS tape. The short film blew me away and I watch it at least once a year during Halloween. I also remember the debut of the video for Black or White, airing on the Fox network coupled with an In Living Color episode.

When 16-bit Sega Genesis was first released, they went around malls across the USA promoting with festival events, and I was chosen to compete in a moonwalk. While I ultimately lost as I did not have the best moonwalk, the 1000 in attendance reacted positively to me punctuating the move with Jacko’s signature “a-hee-hee-hee”.

Even in the early 2000’s myself and friend would karaoke Black or White as a performance to our date that evening. This would lead to an incredibly ace moment that I don’t care to disclose at this time.

I’m going to go out on a limb and admit something I suspected all along. This will also give the asexual community something to think about, something I wanted to bring up before, but didn’t want to open up a can of worms. Today seems like the appropriate time to do so. I believe Michael Jackson was asexual, and I say this for several reasons.

First, I recall in music class in grade school at Ancille-Assumpta Academy, a Blue Ribbon School that received this honor from George H.W. Bush, being told something about Jackson. According to my teacher, Jackson’s hormones were intentionally stunted by his father so he could keep his wonderful voice into adulthood. I don’t think I need to familiarize readers with Michael’s high-pitched voice. Even is Michael Jackson wasn’t born into Asexuality, he certainly was manipulated into it.

The other reason behind this comes out of the child molestation charges, charges which he was found not guilty of on all accounts. Believe what you want, but I feel he never sexually abused any children because he didn’t have any sexual feelings. Perhaps he was an asexual pedophile. I bring up this quote from an interview of Jackson’s, in which he speaks of his relations with young boys.

“When you say bed, they make that sexual. It’s not sexual. We’re going to sleep, I tuck them in and put a little like, er, music on and when it’s story time I read a book and we go to sleep with the fireplace on. I give them hot milk, you know. We have cookies. It’s very charming. It’s very sweet. It’s what the whole world should do.”

Now this was taken as very creepy indeed, much for the reason Jackson brought up about the relationship between a bed and sex. If the world understood Asexuality at this time, not that it is very understood or even known about today, then they would have a better understanding of Jackson’s intentions.

This brings up something that the asexual community will eventually have to as a collective unit come up with an answer to concerning ethics. Is it OK to have asexual, albeit romantic, relations with between adults and children? My gut reaction would be no because children could be taken advantage of in other ways as they’re minds aren’t fully developed and deserve a childhood. I am not, however, an authority on ethics for the masses, but personally I know it would not be moral for me to do it at least and I’m romantically attracted to adults anyway. I do believe children do need more rights than they currently have, but that’s an entirely different issue.

This is something the asexual community need to address, and it would be far better to address it sooner rather than later. The last thing we need is to be looked at as immoral in any way, and taking a stand on a potential negative stereotype is both urgent and imperative. Somebody had to bring it up before this shows up on the fringes and nobody understands Asexuality like asexuals do.

In closing, Rest In Peace to Michael Jackson. He touched our hearts are my thoughts and prayers go out to his family, friends, animal companions and the rest of his fans. Anyone critical of the “King of Pop”. I leave you with words from one of his later tracks.

“Before You Judge Me, Try Hard to Love Me!”

I love you Michael Jackson and I will never forget the love you’ve shown the world through your music and charitable work.

//

